New Adventures

So we have two new adventures this week – me cooking and Megan’s potty training .

Due to Tim’s school schedule I have to cook (UGH I HATE cooking – baking I love cooking no I burn water – seriously ask him he’ll tell you) so I’m focused on finding some good meals I can throw together easily or in advance and freeze (tho we can’t put too much in the freezer cos it’s so small) so I tried a few crock pot meals this last week and must say while they were ok they weren’t something I’d make again. So I searched Pinterest and searched my friends and families boards there and luckily my niece is quite the cook so I found a number of things on her board that I want to try. We made sloppy joes ala the Pioneer Woman on Thursday – if you don’t follow her you must, first she’s a great cook (and she has a show on the Food Network), 2nd she makes everything seem so easy, she takes pics of each step which since I’m very visual it helps me to figure things out  and 3rd I love how she writes – she’s funny and it comes thru on her blog I can totally hear her talking as I read her posts…..FUNNY

Here’s the link to her recipe for the sloppy joes, I’ve linked you to her website and to the recipe it’s self but I’m going to still post it here cos we made a few changes (to make it a bit more to our liking – we tend to like things a bit spicier) this recipe is super easy and only takes about half an hour from start to finish so very nice – I like things easy and fast. The first thing this recipe calls for is to brown the ground beef in some butter – I don’t quite understand it since then you drain off the fat I kinda feel like I’m throwing it away but hey when I try a recipe the first time I usually don’t make any changes until I’ve tasted it then maybe add some more spices and after tasting it I wouldn’t take out the butter, we used a super low-fat ground beef so we actually needed some fat in the end to saute the onions and peppers. I think if we used a higher fat beef I wouldn’t use it but anyways here’s the recipe

2 Tablespoons butter

2 1/2 lbs ground beef

1/2 large onion diced (we used 1 medium onion cos we like onions in our house)

1 large green bell pepper diced

5 cloves of garlic minced

1 1/2 cup ketchup

1 cup water

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

2 teaspoons chili powder (we did 3)

1 teaspoon dry mustard

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (we did 3/4 teaspoon)

Worcestershire sauce (we added 3 shakes of the bottle – have no clue how much that really was lol)

2 Tablespoons tomato paste (we didn’t use any cos we didn’t have any – I wish we did cos it really needed the extra tomato flavor)

tabasco sauce (we didn’t use any again cos we didn’t have any, with the extra red pepper flakes and chili pepper I don’t really think it’s needed)

salt and pepper to taste

Kaiser rolls (we just used regular ole hamburger rolls)

extra butter

To Cook:

Over medium high heat, melt the butter in a large skillet or dutch oven add the ground beef and brown. Drain and discard the excess fat, add the onions, green peppers and garlic cook until soft. Add ketchup, brown sugar, chili pepper, dry mustard, water, tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce and tabasco sauce. Butter rolls and brown on griddle or skillet.

To Serve:

Spoon meat mixture on rolls (add a slice of cheese “if it makes your skirt fly up” (see what did I say she’s great). Serve hot with chips

See super easy and super quick. We really liked it and we’ll make it again — it made enough for us to have 8 that night plus there’s more in the fridge for probably at least 2 more. Easily something to double then freeze it for later.

 

Megan’s potty training isn’t going to well — she doesn’t care about being wet – never has, even as an infant she never fussed cos her diaper needs to be changed, very frustrating, so I have no idea how to get her potty trained cos she’s almost 3 and still in a diaper — I just really think she should be out of them by now and it’s frustrating that she just has no desire to not have a diaper on. I don’t get it, those things can’t be that dry that you don’t notice that it’s wet and the poopy ones she doesn’t even care about those either. We are going to stay at home as much as possible this week and really work on it, last night at Wal-Mart we found some Gerber training pants, so we’re going to wear those – cos she won’t go around pant less (we tried that method of potty training and it didn’t work for us), so wish us luck and keep your fingers crossed for us.

So we are now on week 3 or 4 depending on how you look at it of David’s football season for his freshman year, they’ve played 3 games now and the 4th is coming up on Wednesday. They are currently 1-2, they are a young team (I think I mentioned this is a previous post) this is the 2nd season that this school has had a football team, I would expect things to be a bit better especially some of the basic stuff – every pass is over thrown and every time they are the receiving team for the kick off no one catches it – it doesn’t even seem that they are trying to catch it, they allow it to bounce then they run after it – I don’t get it. David has been having a few issues with a couple of the players – when they came back from their 2nd game (it was an away game about 20 minutes away from us) one of the players announced to the bus that David wears a certain type of undergarments (not gonna get into specifics cos well this is public and he would kill me) and I guess the other guys wear a different type, so I asked him when he told me this if he wanted to change the type of undergarments he wears and he said no, but my main thought when he tells me this is “why the heck is someone checking out what he’s wearing — I mean really is this what guys do in the locker room? I don’t remember checking out other girls – ok well I guess I did cos I was looking at their pretty lacy bras and panties sets that matched and I wore ugly plain white cotton bras and was lucky to get colored panties, ok so maybe that is the same – unless this kid was checking out my son’s – dare I say it – “package” lol. My son is not on the starting line up – which he has a very hard time with – so he doesn’t get a lot of play time, so during his play time this last week he was out for only one possession and one of the other guys made a comment that the reason why they didn’t score on the possession was all his (my son’s)  fault –  I just wanted to find this kid and say “really buddy it’s my son’s fault that there was no score on this possession – it’s the middle of the 4th quarter and the team has failed to score yet – is this also my son’s fault?” I was so ticked how dare this punk blame my son for the fact that they didn’t score. My son is an offensive line man and he didn’t allow a sack (more than I can say for the Packer’s offensive line men against the Seahawk’s on MNF – yup I went there – now don’t even go there on the last play I’m not even talking about it lol) back to my son LOL – it wasn’t my son’s fault that each of the passes were not caught. Really the mama bear in me wants to go raise hell with these two kids but I can’t and I know it but man it’s hard for me to not go fight battles for him cos isn’t that what mom’s are supposed to do – protect their young well he’s still my young and I want to go to battle for him but I know that he needs to fight his own battles or he will end up like his dad, 45 years old and can’t stand up for himself – and I won’t allow that to happen, he’s got to fight his own battles so he can stand up for himself and – hopefully – do it correctly.

Tonite I’m going to attempt making french toast in the crock pot for breakfast tomorrow so we’ll see how that goes tomorrow am

Leave a Reply

