Facial Cleansing cream

Since I have permission from Sally Trew to post these recipes for some of the things I use from her book “The complete Idiot’s guide to making Natural Beauty Products” I figured I would post the ones that we are using on a daily basis. So here’s the one we are using for our problem skin – I’m still fighting with my son to get him to use it but for me I get my monthly breakouts and am cursed with permanent blackheads on my nose and chin. I’ve been using this for just over a week – 2 times a day and man oh man I had hardly any breakouts from my monthly visitor and my blackheads are almost gone on my nose (YAY) I’ve been dealing with these since I was a teen and nothing has ever worked till this cream.

  • 2.6 ounces (73.7 grams) of jojoba oil
  • 10 ounces (283.5 grams) of distilled water
  • 2 ounces (56.7 grams) of aloe vera gel
  • .3 ounce (8.5 grams) of stearic acid
  • 1.1 ounces (31.2 grams) of emulsifying wax
  • .2 ounce (5.7 grams) of lemongrass essential oil
  • .24 ounce (6.8 grams) of preservative (I used Optiphen)
  1. on the stove over medium low heat warm the Jojoba oil and emulsifying wax, until the wax is melted
  2. add the water, aloe vera gel, stearic acid stir well until this mixture is 110 degrees F
  3. Remove from heat and add the essential oil and preservative mix well
  4. Pour into sterilized container and let cool, it will thicken as it cools. Once cooled cover and use. Label and date bottle.
  5. To use – rub cream all over your face (avoid your eyes and mouth – trust me it doesn’t taste good). I wait until it starts to tingle a little then rinse off with a warm washcloth or in the shower. Then I follow with toner and moisturizer.

According to my research Jojoba oil is not an actual oil but a liquid wax and is excellent for oily/acne prone skin. I chose the Optiphen for the preservative because there it is formaldehyde free and paraben free, this is strictly a personal choice I don’t want that stuff on my skin, my theory if I”m not going to eat it I don’t want it on my skin either.

Leave a Reply

