Sinus Shower tablets

Meimei has been sick lately – on and off for about a month now she’s had this wonderful (I jest lol) sinus crap that just won’t go away. I have been searching high and low for something to help her since there is nothing the dr’s can give her. We have tried warm showers, warm baths, humidifier at night and nothing seems to be working. I had checked out a book from the library – my son loves the name of the book – “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Making Natural Beauty Products” by Sally Trew and Zonella Gould, and I saw a recipe for these tablets – I remember using this type of thing years ago in the shower. You just put it in the shower – kinda away from you but where the water will hit it and where you can still breathe in the vapors.

I have emailed Sally Trew to get permission to post some of the recipes here on my blog so as soon as I get permission I will.

ETA – I just received an email from Sally Trew and she gave me permission to post as many recipes as I want, she did ask however that I give full credit to the book, I posted the name of the book above and just created a link to purchase it from Amazon, now I just got it from the library, but I also see that you can get it on your kindle too (I love my kindle app on my phone). I”m all for saving a few trees.

These sinus tabs are perfect for those who suffer from allergies and head colds.  Just place a tab in the bottom of your shower/tub were the water will hit it.  While you take your shower, the vapors will help clear out your stuffed nose.  You make them just like regular bath bombs, except you boil the water and use it to melt the menthol crystals.  This recipe makes 24 (1-ounce; 28.4 gram) sinus tabs.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (236.6 ml) Baking Soda
  • 1 cup (236.6 ml) Cornstarch
  • ¾ teaspoon (3.7 ml) Distilled Water
  • 1 teaspoon (4.9 ml) Menthol Crystals
  • 1 ounce (28.4 grams) Sweet Almond Oil
  • 1 teaspoon (4.9 ml) Eucalyptus Essential Oil
  • ½ cup (118.3 ml) Citric Acid

 

  1.  Measure the baking soda and cornstarch, and put in a large bowl.  Mix together well.
  2. Measure the distilled water, and bring it to a boil.  Add menthol crystals, and stir until dissolved.  Add the sweet almond oil and eucalyptus essential oil, and stir well.
  3. Drizzle the liquids into the dry ingredients, and whisk together.  Switch to an electric hand mixer and continue mixing until the liquids are well disbursed throughout the mixture.
  4. Add the citric acid, and mix well.
  5. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees F.  Using a small bath bomb soap mold, mold your shower tabs, pack them tight, and place them on a cookie sheet.  Turn off the oven and put the shower tabs in the oven, and close the door for 1 hour.
  6. After the tabs have been in the oven for an hour, remove them and using a knife, remove the tabs from the cookie sheet.  Let the tabs air-dry overnight.  The next day, wrap the tabs in foil candy wrappers.

*****Note about the menthol crystals — these little buggers are hard to find, not to mention expensive, again being the “I want it now” type of gal that I am and wanting to get these to help Megan with her cold, I was willing to search and finally found a place local to me – well kinda local – we drove to Seattle to get them. We went to Zenith Supplies and we were able get quite a bit of the things we were looking for, and they do ship. Also Mountain Rose Herbs also has them and I have ordered from them before – they have a huge selection of items. Also these suckers pack a punch this recipe just calls for a small amount, so unless you have another use for them or will be making these tablets a bunch I would order the smallest amount you can. Do not adjust the amount of these thinking that they will be even better with more in them — nope you’ll end up with a headache — I will quote from the book how the author’s experience was “One time I decided to make my shower sinus tabs stronger and added a full tablespoon. When I opened the oven door the smell make me light headed and I went down on my knees. We had to open the windows and doors to air out the house.” Tim was getting a headache when I was making them and we had to open the kitchen window and door so trust me don’t add extra to the mix.

Here are the changes I made –

I used a full teaspoon of distilled water to dissolve the menthol crystals.

I also had to add more distilled water to get the tabs to mold together, I don’t remember how much I added but just enough to get the tabs to stick together.

I didn’t have a mold to use so I used a 2 tablespoon scoop and it worked (actually Tim had to do it for me since my hands just aren’t strong enough to do it.  So it made 12 tabs. I also didn’t have any foil but we have plenty of the snack size ziploc baggies so I put them in those instead.

They worked great – gave Megan a shower the next day (when they had dried overnight) and she had a much easier day, not so much wiping of the poor little nose.

 

One thought on “Sinus Shower tablets

  1. Hey, hows it going…I have totally thought about doing this, however, just dont want to spend the time, seems like there is already so much to do…BTW loving the duggar recipe laundry soap ou and I talked about. I dont seem to have to mix it up except when I am putting it in the jugs, I fill up 2 one gallon water jugs halfway then add the water and shake it and for some reason it doesnt settle as bad…the only part I don’t like is the mess that comes with adding it to the gallons…even with a funnel it seems to get everywhere.

    You should hop over and check out my blog.

Leave a Reply

